Merriam Award Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bowyer, M. D. Engstrom, V. Hayssen, S. A. Jansa, G. J. Kenagy, E. A. Lacey (Chair), S. C. Loeb, B. R. Riddle, W.P. Smith, and J. A. Waterman.

Mission:

The responsibility of this committee is to solicit and evaluate nominations for the C. Hart Merriam Award and to select a recipient of the award to be announced at the annual banquet. The recipient is invited to present a plenary lecture at the meeting of the following year. As per a 1996 amendment of the originally defined award by the Board of Directors, the Merriam Award currently represents a focus on recognition for outstanding research contributions to mammalogy.

Information Items:

(1) The committee discharged its duty according to schedule. Four outstanding nominees were considered. The recipient of the 2008 Merriam Award will be announced by the Chair of the committee at the annual banquet.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request: \$50 is requested to complete the engraving and mounting of the bison statue given to the Merriam Award recipient.

Respectfully submitted, Eileen Lacey, Chair (<u>ealacey@berkeley.edu</u>)